The Conservancy welcomes you to the Susquehanna Riverlands Research & Education Center (SRREC) and Climbers Run Nature Preserve. The Conservancy’s SRREC and Preserve offer visitors a unique experience within the Susquehanna Riverlands, a Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) Conservation Landscape. We are excited to work with our many donors; state, county, and local municipal leaders; businesses and foundations; volunteers and the community to educate all ages about the natural environment through our activities, events and programs.
The old stone farmhouse and bank barn were built in the 1860’s.The Snyder family donated the farm to the Boys and Girls Club of Lancaster in the early 1960’s, calling the property Camp Snyder. The Boys and Girls Club used Camp Snyder as a youth summer camp. For several years the camp was left unoccupied. In 2012, the Conservancy purchased the 75.95 acre property and received an adjacent 6.877 acre tract donated by the Schneider family and Mount Airy Lumber, to the preserve bringing the total acreage to 82.827. Thanks to our many wonderful partners, the Conservancy was able to acquire the Boys and Girls Club property, renaming it Climbers Run Nature Preserve. A $640,800 Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) grant was received. The match was satisfied by a 40 acre land gift donated by Andy Appel, now designated Appel Preserve.
The Conservancy renamed the preserve “Climbers Run” to recognize the native brook trout stream on the preserve. Climbers Run is the location of the Conservancy’s new Susquehanna Riverlands Research and Education Center (SRREC). The center continues to undergo renovations to accommodate research and educational opportunities and conduct workshops, environmental events and programming for public benefit as a result of support from private donors, foundations and, grants.